I Want to Go to Momofuku Ko… Not

May 5, 2009 - 1:21pm

May 5, 2009 - 1:21pm

So the James Beard Foundation published its awards yesterday night. Receiving a James Beard award is one of the highest recognition you could get in the US food world.  And Momofuku Ko was awarded the best new Restaurant award. So here’s my question: how did James Beard’s selection committee even managed to enter the restaurant? How did other food critics got in? (and believe me, many did, as you can tell by the many, many reviews the restaurant had).

Because I want to believe the James Beard Foundation, Frank Bruni’s review or Adam Platt’s for that matter. But I don’t know how to get in. Get this: the only way to get a reservation is actually to register on their website (giving credit card number & al) and reservations are only open for the current week. I tried, believe me, several times. So many times that it is embarrasing – I even read articles about HOW to get in Momofuku Ko, including Frank Bruni’s (again). I tried their tricks. Didn’t work. And then I gave up. It even made me resent David Chang personally for using such devious techniques to create a buzz he doesn’t even need. And god knows I liked David Chang, like anyone who read his protrait in the New Yorker I guess. And guess what, I felt better after I gave up.

But the James Beard awarded KO the Best New Restaurant title. And now my old obsession is back. (Mind you, Adam Platt’s award of best new restaurant had already started to kick in the old habit). So if you see this image above one too many times on my blog, please forgive me. See, I need to share my irritation otherwise it all boils inside and it’s not good they say. And if you want this to stop – please tell me how I can get in.

May 5, 2009 - 3:29pm

May 5, 2009 - 3:29pm

3 responses to “I Want to Go to Momofuku Ko… Not

  1. I’ve actually gotten reservation there couple of times. You LITERALLY have to wait by your computer and log in exactly at 10 AM. But I’m sure with the new found fame, the process will only be more difficult now. Sorry….

  2. Pingback: Twitted by florentp

Leave a Reply

